The Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies

The Graduate Institute is an institution of research and higher education (Master and PhD) specialised in the study of the major global, international and transnational challenges facing the contemporary world. It also offers professional development programmes and expertise to international actors from the public, private and non-profit sectors.

Educational programmes

The Graduate Institute offers seven master’s degree programmes, two of which are interdisciplinary, as well as four LL.M (Master of Laws) programmes and six disciplinary PhD programmes.

For professionals, the Institute offers executive education such as degree-granting programmes, for example the Executive Master in Development Policies and Practices, as well as short and customised modules.

Internships or projects

The Master in International Affairs and in Development Studies offers the possibility to validate an internship for a value of 3 ECTS. These two programmes, as well as the Master in International History, contain an “Applied Research Seminar” in which a group of two to four students conduct a research project in favour of a partner of the Institute (ICRC, HCR, WTO, etc.). The Master in International Law contains a similar format: the Trade and Investment Law Clinic.

The Executive Master in Development Policies and Practices also incorporates an applied study in relation to a professional activity (at headquarters or/and in the field) in its curriculum.

Portraits of Alumni

www.graduateinstitute.ch

Location
Geneva, Switzerland

Training and research fields
Humanitarian aid, development cooperation; human rights and peace promotion; economic development cooperation; international law; international history; political science; international affairs; international economics; anthropology and sociology

The Graduate Institute offers programmes in Geneva, a double master’s with Harvard Kennedy School in the United States, joint BA/MA programmes with Beijing University in China and Smith College in the United States, as well as exchange programmes with 41 partner universities around the world.

Discover IC Panorama

What does international cooperation mean? In the panorama of the IC working world you will find definitions, actors and career examples.

cinfo’s newsletter

Remain updated about the current trends in Swiss international cooperation thanks to cinfo’s newsletter.

Share this page

The Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies

L’Institut est un établissement universitaire de recherche et d’enseignement postgrade (master et doctorat) spécialisé dans l’étude des enjeux globaux, internationaux et transnationaux du monde contemporain. Il offre également des programmes de perfectionnement professionnel et de l’expertise aux acteurs internationaux, qu’ils proviennent du service public, du secteur privé ou du secteur à but non lucratif.

Offre de formation

L’IHEID propose 7 masters dont deux interdisciplinaire, ainsi que quatre LLM (Master of law) et 6 doctorats disciplinaires.

A l’intention des professionnels, les services de formation continue de l’Institut offrent des formations diplômantes, notamment un Executive Master en politiques et pratiques du développement, ainsi que des programmes courts ou sur mesure.

Stages ou projets

Le Master in International Affairs et le Master in Development Studies offrent la possibilité de valider un stage pour une valeur de 3 ECTS. Ces deux programmes ainsi que le Master en Histoire Internationale comportent un « Applied Research Seminar » dans lequel un groupe de 2-4 étudiants effectue un projet de recherche pour le compte d'un partenaire de l'institut (CICR, HCR, OMC etc...). Le Master en Droit international comporte un format similaire: le Trade and Investment Law Clinic.

L’Executive Master en politiques et pratiques du développement intègre également au cursus une étude appliquée en lien avec l'activité professionnelle (au siège de l'organisation et/ou sur le terrain).

Portraits d‘alumni

www.graduateinstitute.ch

Lieu
Genève, Suisse

Domaines d’enseignement et de recherche
Coopération au développement, droits de l’homme et promotion de la paix, coopération économique au développement, droit international, histoire internationale, science politique, relations internationales, économie internationale, anthropologie et sociologie

L’IHEID offre des programmes à Genève, un double master avec Harvard Kennedy School aux Etats-Unis, des programmes conjoints BA/MA avec l’Université de Pékin en Chine et Smith College aux Etats Unis, ainsi que des programmes d’échange avec 41 universités partenaires du monde.

Découvrez le panorama de la CI

Qu’est-ce que coopération internationale signifie? Dans le panorama du monde du travail de la CI, vous trouverez définitions, acteurs et exemples de carrière.

Newsletter cinfo

Restez informé-e des dernières nouvelles dans le marché du travail de la coopération internationale grâce à la newsletter de cinfo.

Partager cette page